Tuesday, March 31, 2009

Monday, March 30, 2009

March 30- Shameless promotion and music

Alright a couple of things to get to today. For the first time in a while, I've got a rant up my sleeve, which I will get to shortly. Before I get to that, however, I thought I'd mention that the 'stache has gotten some negative publicity in the last few days. I spoke with a friend and former co-worker who has been up to date on my facial hair growing abilities and she informed me that word had spread to her place of employment that that I was growing out some sort of abomination (not this)...

This kind of delights me. I'd been looking forward to giving up shaving in some capacity for quite some time....However, I think it's safe to say that I will be shaving the 'stache Wednesday morning, since I do not want prospective employers shaking their heads in disapproval (or jealousy) because of some silly facial hair. That also would mean that the soul patch would have to go...it's not that I don't like it (though I don't, at least on its own), it's more the tiresome "didja miss a spot?" comments that I couldn't stand. It's been a fun little experiment, but sadly it doesn't have much of a shelf life after the next 36 hours or so. On the subject, I will try to get a picture or two posted of the final product.

I had originally wanted to grow my hair out as well. As you are no doubt aware, I am the poster child for verility, thanks largely in part to my "creepy" moustache and three strands of chest hair. I've been eyeing the George Harrison look lately, and haven't REALLY grown my hair out since college. I thought better of it last week, since I am still not gainfully employed. I know it will happen, and when it does, I am apt to make a run at some long, flowing locks. For now, however, it looks as though I've got to play the hair close to my chest(hair...thereby weaving it into a thick coat of fur). I would like to thank the five of you who have offered positive support in this endeavor; it has been much appreciated. We had a good run...


Alright, now on to my rant....

As many of you (most of the dozen of you?) know, I have been hosting trivia night locally for a number of months now. The other week, trivia night was brought to the patrons of the brewery by a soon-to-be-in-theaters movie. What.the.fuck? Really, I was shocked. Not that Stump! trivia had been sponsored, but that it was by a fucking movie. Actually, the more I think about it, the more the general premise bothers me. I had always thought that the grassroots campaign to spread more trivia throughout the land was an admirable cause; I greatly admire the ingenuity required to make such an event possible each week throughout this section of the country. This business made me angry. Trivia night is a strong enough entity to stand on its own two feet, so why doesn't it?

This situation is unacceptable. What sort of scenario follows the promotion of a movie? Does plugging a movie that's released by a particular production company mean we can't mention other lines in future nights? Are we restricted to Paramount-only (just as an example) pictures being mentioned in passing? I think at the root of this is my sincerest hope that it was an isolated incident. For the most part, there's traditionally been a variety of subjects touched upon each week. Does this signal an end of that? I fucking hope not. It's like the scene in Jerry Maguire where the ballplayer can't sign a kid's trading card of him because it's not the right brand. Fuck that. Recommendations are fine. Really, I have been seeking advice and suggestions from people all month re: my musical mission. However, there's a certain stench that comes with the shameless plugging of a product where there's little/no say in whether or not anyone WANTS to promote said product. It's just "take the money and tell all how great (insert product here) is...". Fucking ridiculous.

(By the way, I'm not saying I will never promote anything, but I like to think of myself who would promote something that I legitimately endorse, such as Guinness or Clue.) I dunno, it was just a real downer of an evening. Will I say that Stump! sold out? Not really. I mean, I hope it was lucrative, and they certainly catered to relevant questions. I suppose at the heart of the matter, the founders and higher-ups started Stump! to make money. Mission: accomplished. Just a bummer that it comes with its own cost.

Went up to visit my old roommate and some friends from Albany this weekend and managed to get Pink Floyd's The Wall in on the ride up. Right now, I'm plugging through Houses of the Holy and LZII. Pretty good run through thus far....we're in the homestretch of the musical assault and so there will be some sort of wrap up activity involving the musical selections coming soon. Keep an eye out ;)

Friday, March 27, 2009

March 27- Books, 'stache, music...

NOTE: For those of you simply looking to get the answer to this week's Facebook question, scroll down to the end of this post. Otherwise, enjoy.



Currently watching Syracuse get their asses handed to them by the Oklahoma Sooners. Otherwise, the NCAA tournament has gone fairly well, according to my non-gambling brackets. Anyway, since there's little chance of the Orange making a comeback (forget about Arizona...they've been taken care of), I figure I would be the star performer of the night and get a LOT of information out there...


As part of the self-improvement tour (which, and I'm sorry to say this, Tyler Durden, is not about masturbating wherever I go. I WOULD like to get a job instead of being a degenerate at some point), I've been reading and musicking quite a bit. Here's the latest few books devoured:

1) I Am America (and so can you!) by Stephen Colbert- A less-hilarious version of America: the Book. It covers facets of society through the eyes of Colbert's on-stage persona, making it fairly amusing. I will say that I can only take Colbert at one episode per night (you will NOT see me hunkering down for a Colbert Report marathon...now 24, on the other hand...), so if you are like me, it makes for a great bathroom read, as Colbert's tangents and side-tangents and mini-pages ("Fun Zone", among others, in each chapter) are easy to isolate in 5-minute intervals. If you're a Colbert-nut, you may find that it is a must-have. And that's fine by me.


2) The Freedom Writers Diary by Various Authors and Erin Gruwell- As a teacher-to-be, I found this story to be intriguing (just like Stand and Deliver, Dangerous Minds, and 21 Jump Street)...first-year teacher in rough area of LA documents her transformation of students who supposedly wouldn't amount to anything into students who make something of their lives. She does so through their diary entries, kept through all four years of school in her classroom. It's a pretty subtle change in their attitude and writing abilities, and it's a really fine demonstration of students being able to help make the connection between art, literature, and life. Since Social Studies is my game, I will have to rely on my old costume stand-by:


I just saw a Natty Light commercial. This is officially bizzarro world.

3) Freakonomics by Stephen Dubner and Steven Levitt- Fantastic book about outside-of-the-box ways of thinking about social questions (favorite chapter discusses the idea that the legalization of abortion via Roe v. Wade is largely to thank for the drastic decline in crime across the nation in the 90's). Many of the theories had me scratching my head before I read the full explanation of how the authors came to their conclusions. Needless to say, I felt much better about them at the end of the chapters. In the spirit of middle school book reports, I recommend this book to people who- like me- have had questions that stretch the norms of conventional thought. By digging (and I'd imagine that this sort of digging would be treacherous work) around through stats endlessly, it just demonstrates that unexpected results are possible. Great read, too; Dubner and Levitt are good yarn-spinners.

Pro-choice activists are shaking their heads...they apparently have never seen D-Wade fly

Alright, now a list of music I've listened to since the last update:

Bedouin Soundclash- Sounding a Mosaic
John Coltrane
Benny Goodman- Forever Gold
Duke Ellington
John Butler Trio- Sunrise Over the Sea
Kings of Leon- Aha Shake Heartbreak
Lupe Fiasco- Food & Liquor
Radiohead- Kid A
Radiohead- Amnesiac
Beatles- Abbey Road (I know...)
Beatles- Rubber Soul
Van Morrison- Moondance


...and rounding it out, what I have yet to listen to, but will get to before the month's out:
Beach Boys- Pet Sounds
Doors- The Doors
Led Zeppelin- Zep II
Led Zeppelin- Houses of the Holy (never straight through)
Pink Floyd- The Wall (x2)
Smashing Pumpkins- Siamese Dream
Pearl Jam- Ten


So that's where I'm at. Once I finish this post, it'll be time to pay the pied piper and actually review my reactions to these albums, starting from the ones mentioned in an earlier post...fucking stupid of me to be so behind on that work, but here we are. Can only change it.

I've also figured out a few things about what I dislike about rap:
1- Digitized vocals. It sounded fucking terrible for Cher, it sounds fucking terrible for you (even you, Kanye...brutal).
2- Overbearing bass. Takes away the often-impressive lyrical contribution of many great artists. "Everything I Am"- possibly my favorite Kanye tune- features very little in terms of musical accompaniment...which I think is part of what makes it great. Just one man's opinion, but still...I'm the one typing.
3- Moreso than anything else, I fucking HATE the self-absorbed rappers who dwell on material possessions. Cut the shit and tell me something insightful. If I wanted to hear about cars and expensive shit that gets rented out for awards shows and music videos, I'd ask. Tell a fucking story or something! This ego-fuck of narcissism is really off-putting.

THAT SAID, I find I'm enjoying just about all of the additional hip-hop and rap that I've been listening to (I refuse to say R&B...Rhythm&Blues is something entirely different in my book). Story-telling and commentary makes it work; the beat, in my opinion, is secondary (that's the poet in me).


Anyway, I've been doing the trivia thing for a few months now, and it's been going quite well. Last night, there was a brawl! Certainly becoming a fierce facet of local flavor, this trivia game...apparently this one dude was giving the bartender some shit and was told to leave, so another patron decided he'd HELP the man out...which ended with one guy topless, and one guy beerless...and of course the rest of us speechless. Trivia's not exactly the rough-n-tumble environment, and so to see this go down was pretty intense. Quite a memorable night, compounded by people using my name in their team names; I thoroughly enjoy the clever team names that come my way each week. It really is a highlight of the job (playing DJ doesn't hurt, either).

While I have your attention, I'd like to emphasize my hatred for the over/misuse of the word "literally". Stop that shit. Thank you.

Lastly, for those of you interested, here's a general idea of how well my month-long struggle to quit shaving my 'stache is going:



Ain't it sexy? (answer: yes, it is.)

Monday, March 23, 2009

March 23- 'Stache update, Music too?

Just so you are all aware, the 'stache is coming in nicely (read: sparsely). Apparently this "work" thing is keeping me busier than I had anticipated, and so 1) I will have to find time to put up a substantial post in the near future, and 2) I will be making up a lot of time by listening to a buttload of tunes on Wednesday. Throw suggestions my way; I'm open to anything.

Tuesday, March 17, 2009

March 17- One thing


Make it a good one. Happy St. Patrick's Day to you and yours...

Monday, March 16, 2009

March 16- New book, musical choices, 'stache

Finished Chuck Klosterman IV on Friday, and it was delightful...very much along in the same vein as Sex, Drugs, and Cocoa Puffs, only this had a tremendous amount of music-related articles. The writing comes off as a little snarky at times, but it's only because Klosterman has such a vast knowledge of music in general that he's able to inject these scarce side-notes and rather specific bits of information... still, a solid read, if esoteric at times.

Anyway, as I said last week, here's a compilation of the first week's worth of albums that I've listened to:

Ready to Die- Notorious B.I.G.
Day & Age- The Killers
No Line on the Horizon- U2
In the Zone- Britney Spears
Shaman- Santana
Live Like You Were Dying- Tim McGraw
...And Justice For All- Metallica
College Dropout- Kanye West
and a number of tracks by David Bisbal...not sure that it is one album, but it was a steady collection of songs by the Spanish-speaking performer.

I tried to expand the scope of what I normally would choose to listen to, and so I think I have hit a solid group of relatively diverse performers. Let me clarify before anyone goes and cries foul: I understand that at least in the American mainstream, these are relatively well-known artists (minus Bisbal). I am not intentionally trying to pursue music that could be constituted as pop/anything (popular rap, popular country, pop rock, etc)...however, it is music that is much more accessible to many more people than relative unknown/"underground" groups. That and I haven't really done that much to pursue unknown groups/artists. Oh well...



Let's take a quick look at these one by one, shall we?


.........



......?
No. We shall not. Part of bettering myself means taking care of things that need to be addressed, and I stubbed my toe on a bin that is meant to store all of my school files/sheets/handouts/etc. which are currently cozied up on my floor. It's coming, don't worry. You'll get some heads-up writing shortly, probably as I lay around Wednesday.

Anyway, the moustache is coming in nicely; if I can doctor a picture, I will be sure to post it later on. At the halfway mark, though, it's working out quite well, if I may say so. It'll be interesting to see how it grows in the second half of the month...

Thursday, March 12, 2009

March 12- Books and a catch-up

A few things before we get to the meat of today's post...

1) I forgot to mention fries as a Lent sacrifice. It's my go-to side order at just about every meal out I have. Avoiding them would more than likely be beneficial to me. That's a tricky one, I don't mind saying. Just some gooooood shit. They will be missed.

2) Quick note about California: while I haven't told many stories (partly because there's not much to tell; it was a low-key, slow-paced trip that helped in my well-being and where I'm at in my life right now, and partly because it's always a bit of a bore hearing other peoples' stories about their trips out of town unless it's pee-your-pants funny OR involves some random act of sexual misbehavior OR involves a celebrity somehow. Since none of that happened, there's really not much to tell. Sorry to burst any bubbles. Tell ya what: Chicago will be grounds for some outlandish stuff.), there is one that I'd like to share because it may have been a subtly surreal moment in my life for reasons I can't explain...

So my last day there we headed to Universal Studios for the afternoon. The sun was shining, low-70s, just a gorgeous day (perfect for a ballgame. THAT is the benchmark for good weather: how well you could pull off a game of baseball). We take the elevator down from the parking garage, and step out into a narrow strip of light on our way to the main square just as I hear the opening chords to "Beautiful Day". It's playing on a giant video screen out in front of the Hard Rock and I am loving it. There's something about the song that gets to me- maybe that's why it's my favorite- and as I watched the video and basked in the sunshine, this...warmth just rushed over me. It was as though I had turned a real corner in life. Made my day, really...

3) I've taken a brief break from my listening to tunes. At the end of the month, I will have listened to 31 all-new albums. In addition, I will be providing a halfway there post on Sunday or Monday about what I've listened to thus far. I have been working at acquiring a lot of new music to give me ideas for something to listen to, that way I can map out the rest of my month on that front. Relax. It'll happen.

4) I had a couple of questions about my non-shaving goal. Allow me to address them: One, I am just keeping the 'stache and soul patch. What some people may call a "beard" (read: patches) can be shaved whenever and WILL be shaved tonight or tomorrow. The 'stache stays. Two, I will not shave it for a job interview, if in fact I get one by the end of the month. Three, it has not yet been admired by anyone of the fairer sex. Women as a whole must not have gotten the memo...so spread the word. Thank you.


Alright, so let's get into what it is that I wanted to address today: books.

Yes, yes, books. Now before you go ahead and head elsewhere, consider that I haven't had time to enjoy a book for pleasure in about three years. Now, I know I read the 7th Harry Potter book the day it came out, but that was more like a race against time so that some asshat wouldn't blow the ending. I don't consider that true enjoyment. The Twilight series (yupp, I read it. Amazing how well teenagers will pay attention when you can relate shit to a popular book series...) was a race against time, as well, as I had to finish the first three books before the end of my first placement. Breaking Dawn was also devoured during student teaching and therefore cannot be considered as a book that I got to really enjoy. Suffice it to say I've hit the ground running since December. Below is a list of books that I've read so far this year. In addition, I've posted a list of books that I've started through the years but have been unable to get through them due to this "school" thing. Anyone who cared to recommend books can leave a comment or get in touch with me with their recommendations. The reading train won't be slowing up any time soon...

1) Resilience by Alonzo Mourning: Autobiography about my favorite basketball player. Zo's book is more of a motivational tool than anything else, seeing as how he's had a lot of roadblocks in his career. Sadly, he retired just before I got to see him play live in Miami. In the meantime, this was a fairly straightforward book that gives you a better glimpse of his Georgetown days than much of his career, other than his off-court activities (kidney failure, et. al.). That said, it was pretty cool to read some of the bits of advice from a man who's experienced the highs and lows of life and that he had some advice to shell out for the well-being of everyone else was pretty refreshing in today's world of professional sports. I'd recommend it.

2) Loser by Jerry Spinelli: Spinelli, the writer of Maniac Magee (a favorite of my adolescence), writes a very quick read geared toward much younger readers. That said, it was a feel-good story about a kid who- despite having a slow step and ridicule from the outside world- loves his life. I meant to write "lives his life", but the message is one and the same. A very quick read, even if it's a little juvenile.

3-6) Twilight series by Stephanie Meyer: While I flew through these during the fall, I think it warrants mention that the four books are engaging and a very easy read, if the four books were unreasonably thick. The stories- which chronicle the relationship between a mortal high school senior and a vampire...and a werewolf- and the consequences of forging those relationships in the broader scope of the supernatural world (think Jets/Sharks-meets-Monster Theater-meets-Teen Wolf (not really...though it is worth mentioning that Teen Wolf is, in my opinion, one of the most dated movies of the 80s)). Personally, it's a little overdramatic for my liking (and I'm a sucker for cheesy and romantic), with the main character talking about being a soulmate with a vampire (who...get this...LACKS a soul) within the first 48 hours of seeing this guy--- Okay, okay, okay...I was once a teenager. I get the falling hard for someone. Been there, done that. Soul mates and an eternity together with a stranger to me is fucking senseless. I'll stop judging now--- is preposterous. That said, there were a few other points that I really took from this about the warped perception of what the perfect guy does, namely the fact that until the last book in the series, the attitude that Edward takes with Bella is one of a condescending jerkoff. There's a PG way to say that, I'm sure, but that's what I gathered.

By the way, I just took stock in my life: without a job and commenting on the love story of the Twilight series while sitting in my pajamas. If YOU have stock in my life, it's not a terrible idea to sell.

Anyway, give it a read. At least it will help you in your attempts to relate to teenage students...at least the sappy ones who could not give less of a shit about some good classic literature.

7) Female Chauvinist Pigs by Ariel Levy: A book that I highly recommend...in small doses. Levy's exposee on the new wave of "feminists" is very interesting in that it tries to get at the heart of what this mentality of "one of the guys" is all about; whether or not this counts as feminism as it is defined; and, if it is, how effective it is. It's a very scholarly text, which was a change from the aforementioned books. However, I found myself nodding in agreement constantly while Levy picked apart this idea of using sex as cultural currency. I am not sure- as Levy speculates- whether the women who choose to embrace sex and raunch as a way to get ahead in a male-dominated society are succeeding because they're getting ahead in larger and larger droves OR whether they are still being exploited for such behavior and are making enough progress. It's an interesting debate and something that I would teach if I were an English teacher (and had the opportunity to do so...maybe in a college classroom?). Overall, I think it's an important book to read for both men and women, particularly young men and women who are starting to come into their own...it'll give you a sense of perspective.

8) Blink by Malcolm Gladwell: A series of case studies introducing the concept that our first two seconds of seeing someone and what it says about us. Gladwell uses these case studies to present the benefits and drawbacks of such immediate decision-making, this "in the blink of an eye" judgement that we unconsciously make. When is it a benefit? When is it a detrement? It's a good book, and I'd certainly recommend it, if only for the opportunity to learn about it, since it may not sway your beliefs.

9) Hitman: My real life in the cartoon world of professional wrestling by Bret Hart: Growing up I was a WWF fan, and the Hitman was my favorite wrestler. He wasn't the biggest, fastest, strongest...he was the best. This is an incredibly detailed account of his decades in the pro wrestling business. Hart kept an audio journal for the majority of his career as a pro and uses that to write a steady (and straight shocking) account of the way of the business. What drew me to the book, other than the author, was that it was touted as an honest account of what goes on. I've taken an interest in the growing list of wrestlers/abusers who passed on at such a young age...Hart covers it. He pulls no punches on his own shortcomings (adultery, drug and sterioud abuse among them), which was bittersweet for me. At times it was like I was 10 again, only now I found out that Hart wasn't pristine. I liken it to a kid finding out about A-Rod...just nuts. On the other hand, he was honest about what he did that would be considered a fuck-up. I respect that. Also, at times, this is a tragic story about the demise of what I gather and have read to be a well-respected and prominent family in the sport/business.

That said, I don't recall reading a more intense and more insightful account of the actual goings-on outside of the ring. Consider that anything an athlete does now on the playing field/court/ring has been taped. It's the stuff away from that that we long to hear about and this book is full of it. Anyone who has observed wrestling or was even a casual fan should at least give this book a good long look.

10) Sex, Drugs, and Cocoa Puffs by Chuck Klosterman: An incredibly well-written and admittedly out there series of short pieces on different, esoteric and random pieces of pop culture history and how it correlates to the current condition of American society. This is a perfect storm of things that I thoroughly enjoy, and so I endorse this as much as possible. Now...there IS some intricate and specific information that Klosterman writes about. If you are not privy to that information before you read, it's just not the same. While some things (Saved by the Bell, anyone?) are discussed on an intellectually-stimulating-yet-absurd level that many can relate to, there is one particular chapter about the legacy of Billy Joel, for example, that draws on specific tracks and albums, and if you haven't heard them, it's hard to stay with Klosterman as he twists and turns his way down the rabbit hole to get to the core of human condition in today's world (That said, there's a section that features a series of questions that Klosterman says he asks before he can tell if he loves someone. If you shake your head and chuckle, you're not alone).

So that's it. That's my list. Now have at it!


Books I'm in the middle of (and in some cases have been for ages):
Fraternity Gang Rape
Chronicles of Narnia
Nobody Likes You
Chuck Klosterman IV
U2ByU2
Founding Brothers
What Ifs of American History
Lardner on Baseball

Tuesday, March 10, 2009

March 10- Intro to March, etc.

...and by "later tonight" I meant "Tuesday afternoon". I'd apologize, but I was getting up to something better than typing last night (rhymes with "Bolivia"). Anyway, I figure since it's been almost a full month since my last post, I owe something major to my family and 5 faithful followers (side note: many thanks for the support, team.), so here goes...

So February is finally over, and I can honestly say that I could not be much happier about that. Anyway, I went 1 for 2 in my February pursuits. I lasted a whopping 12 days on the "No masturbating" thing, which I suppose I could be proud of (will give it another shot some time this year), though I must say I rather enjoy the freedom to do it when and if I want.

Part two involved (or involves, depending on how you want to look at it) not addressing those people with whom I've had issues in the past. I spent a couple of weeks traveling this month and did not need the added weight of personal issues hanging over my head while trying to unwind and move on from the past. In addition, I've had a number of talks with people about the past and I put forth an honest effort to live in the present, rather than dwell on things that have come to pass; a heartfelt thank you to those of you who have offered a listening ear during this time, it is much appreciated. On THAT front, I was successful, so I was a hearty .500 in Febtober and overall am at a 3 for 4 pace over the first two months of 2009.

Other perks of this goal-setting so far have included: drinking less; weight loss; more sleep; seeing the country.

Anyway, I had a number of good ideas for what to give up for Lent...I came up with the idea of giving up candy, snacking, and soda as I was indulging in some home-made chocolate-covered pretzels and a Diet Coke at 3 in the afternoon on Ash Wednesday. D'oh! So it was back to the drawing board, and this is what I've come up:

1) No soda: Now, I'm not a big soda drinker anyway...there's the Dr. Pepper with Mole Mole, Captain and gingers and Jack and Cokes at the Derby, and the occasional Brown Bomber (whiskey and ginger) at family events. This will not be challenging, but rewarding in that I won't be burping as much.

2) No desserts: Again, not a big challenge, as I'm not a big dessert eater. However, this has been stretched to include chocolate, candy, sweet stuff, pastries, and my nemesis, Oreos and milk. Honestly, the Mannings don't have shit on my Oreo-consuming ability. With a full tray of those bad boys out this weekend, it was tough saying no, but I'm on the right path thus far.

3) Fast food: Another small challenge, since I'm not big into fast food (Wendy's as an occasional temptation, of course). That was really a non-issue after I felt lethargic after gorging myself on In and Our Burger when I was in California (I felt like I was wearing cement shoes, despite being in a fucking car). Nuts. Well on my way to keeping that one in check.

Overall, that's a pretty solid recipe for getting my body back into some semblance of a not-as-round shape. Now, for March...

For the month of March, I will not be shaving my moustache. Now, I know what some of you may be thinking...and the answer is I have no idea how it will look after a month. The last time I went that long without shaving was when I studied abroad. Since then my chest hair volume has increased by 2500%, and after 10 days it doesn't look like an unwashed upper lip anymore (still can be called "crustache", though...). Last November, I was denied the opportunity to really explore my facial hair-growing abilities due to student teaching. Suffice it to say I'm pretty pumped for the end of this month.

Maybe the most inappropriate motivational poster in the history of the world.

Now, since I've had a side project each month, I figured I may as well make one up for March. I've decided to try to listen to a different music album each day in March. The catch? I can never have listened to the album before! Now, instead of sticking to my steady rotation of rock n' roll music, I've asked a number of people for help in coming up with new artists for me. I don't want to be an ignorant prick when it comes to music (of which I am a huge fan), saying I like "anything but country/metal/rap". So I've been looking for input. If you have suggestions, you are more than likely able to get in touch with me without my having to post my email address here, so hop to it. Really, I'm open to anything. I listened to a Russian techno CD the other day, so really, explore the space.

Coming up later today, a re-cap of the CDs I've listened to thus far. For now, I'm catching up on The Wire, which I've started watching. So far, so good.

Monday, March 9, 2009

March 9, 2009- March and a much-needed explanation

So the jet lag has finally worn off from California, and so I must apologize profusely for depriving you all of entertainment for so long. There's no rational excuse, I've just been terribly lazy (so much for THAT New Years resolution). I'm heading to work. However, I am making a genuine effort to get caught up with many topics that are in need of discussion/note/mentioning.

My efforts will include an update on: California; books; the new U2 album; what I'm giving up for Lent (AND March...double-bagging life); death; a fond farewell to an old friend; and, of course, looking ahead. Also, I will be addressing the end of February, my least favorite month. So stick around, I will be making numerous posts over the coming days, including one later tonight!

March: Giving up shaving my 'stache. Ladies, you know how to reach me (I respond to the bat signal)...