Monday, March 30, 2009

March 30- Shameless promotion and music

Alright a couple of things to get to today. For the first time in a while, I've got a rant up my sleeve, which I will get to shortly. Before I get to that, however, I thought I'd mention that the 'stache has gotten some negative publicity in the last few days. I spoke with a friend and former co-worker who has been up to date on my facial hair growing abilities and she informed me that word had spread to her place of employment that that I was growing out some sort of abomination (not this)...

This kind of delights me. I'd been looking forward to giving up shaving in some capacity for quite some time....However, I think it's safe to say that I will be shaving the 'stache Wednesday morning, since I do not want prospective employers shaking their heads in disapproval (or jealousy) because of some silly facial hair. That also would mean that the soul patch would have to go...it's not that I don't like it (though I don't, at least on its own), it's more the tiresome "didja miss a spot?" comments that I couldn't stand. It's been a fun little experiment, but sadly it doesn't have much of a shelf life after the next 36 hours or so. On the subject, I will try to get a picture or two posted of the final product.

I had originally wanted to grow my hair out as well. As you are no doubt aware, I am the poster child for verility, thanks largely in part to my "creepy" moustache and three strands of chest hair. I've been eyeing the George Harrison look lately, and haven't REALLY grown my hair out since college. I thought better of it last week, since I am still not gainfully employed. I know it will happen, and when it does, I am apt to make a run at some long, flowing locks. For now, however, it looks as though I've got to play the hair close to my chest(hair...thereby weaving it into a thick coat of fur). I would like to thank the five of you who have offered positive support in this endeavor; it has been much appreciated. We had a good run...


Alright, now on to my rant....

As many of you (most of the dozen of you?) know, I have been hosting trivia night locally for a number of months now. The other week, trivia night was brought to the patrons of the brewery by a soon-to-be-in-theaters movie. What.the.fuck? Really, I was shocked. Not that Stump! trivia had been sponsored, but that it was by a fucking movie. Actually, the more I think about it, the more the general premise bothers me. I had always thought that the grassroots campaign to spread more trivia throughout the land was an admirable cause; I greatly admire the ingenuity required to make such an event possible each week throughout this section of the country. This business made me angry. Trivia night is a strong enough entity to stand on its own two feet, so why doesn't it?

This situation is unacceptable. What sort of scenario follows the promotion of a movie? Does plugging a movie that's released by a particular production company mean we can't mention other lines in future nights? Are we restricted to Paramount-only (just as an example) pictures being mentioned in passing? I think at the root of this is my sincerest hope that it was an isolated incident. For the most part, there's traditionally been a variety of subjects touched upon each week. Does this signal an end of that? I fucking hope not. It's like the scene in Jerry Maguire where the ballplayer can't sign a kid's trading card of him because it's not the right brand. Fuck that. Recommendations are fine. Really, I have been seeking advice and suggestions from people all month re: my musical mission. However, there's a certain stench that comes with the shameless plugging of a product where there's little/no say in whether or not anyone WANTS to promote said product. It's just "take the money and tell all how great (insert product here) is...". Fucking ridiculous.

(By the way, I'm not saying I will never promote anything, but I like to think of myself who would promote something that I legitimately endorse, such as Guinness or Clue.) I dunno, it was just a real downer of an evening. Will I say that Stump! sold out? Not really. I mean, I hope it was lucrative, and they certainly catered to relevant questions. I suppose at the heart of the matter, the founders and higher-ups started Stump! to make money. Mission: accomplished. Just a bummer that it comes with its own cost.

Went up to visit my old roommate and some friends from Albany this weekend and managed to get Pink Floyd's The Wall in on the ride up. Right now, I'm plugging through Houses of the Holy and LZII. Pretty good run through thus far....we're in the homestretch of the musical assault and so there will be some sort of wrap up activity involving the musical selections coming soon. Keep an eye out ;)

No comments:

Post a Comment