So February is finally over, and I can honestly say that I could not be much happier about that. Anyway, I went 1 for 2 in my February pursuits. I lasted a whopping 12 days on the "No masturbating" thing, which I suppose I could be proud of (will give it another shot some time this year), though I must say I rather enjoy the freedom to do it when and if I want.
Part two involved (or involves, depending on how you want to look at it) not addressing those people with whom I've had issues in the past. I spent a couple of weeks traveling this month and did not need the added weight of personal issues hanging over my head while trying to unwind and move on from the past. In addition, I've had a number of talks with people about the past and I put forth an honest effort to live in the present, rather than dwell on things that have come to pass; a heartfelt thank you to those of you who have offered a listening ear during this time, it is much appreciated. On THAT front, I was successful, so I was a hearty .500 in Febtober and overall am at a 3 for 4 pace over the first two months of 2009.
Other perks of this goal-setting so far have included: drinking less; weight loss; more sleep; seeing the country.
Anyway, I had a number of good ideas for what to give up for Lent...I came up with the idea of giving up candy, snacking, and soda as I was indulging in some home-made chocolate-covered pretzels and a Diet Coke at 3 in the afternoon on Ash Wednesday. D'oh! So it was back to the drawing board, and this is what I've come up:
1) No soda: Now, I'm not a big soda drinker anyway...there's the Dr. Pepper with Mole Mole, Captain and gingers and Jack and Cokes at the Derby, and the occasional Brown Bomber (whiskey and ginger) at family events. This will not be challenging, but rewarding in that I won't be burping as much.
2) No desserts: Again, not a big challenge, as I'm not a big dessert eater. However, this has been stretched to include chocolate, candy, sweet stuff, pastries, and my nemesis, Oreos and milk. Honestly, the Mannings don't have shit on my Oreo-consuming ability. With a full tray of those bad boys out this weekend, it was tough saying no, but I'm on the right path thus far.
3) Fast food: Another small challenge, since I'm not big into fast food (Wendy's as an occasional temptation, of course). That was really a non-issue after I felt lethargic after gorging myself on In and Our Burger when I was in California (I felt like I was wearing cement shoes, despite being in a fucking car). Nuts. Well on my way to keeping that one in check.
Overall, that's a pretty solid recipe for getting my body back into some semblance of a not-as-round shape. Now, for March...
For the month of March, I will not be shaving my moustache. Now, I know what some of you may be thinking...and the answer is I have no idea how it will look after a month. The last time I went that long without shaving was when I studied abroad. Since then my chest hair volume has increased by 2500%, and after 10 days it doesn't look like an unwashed upper lip anymore (still can be called "crustache", though...). Last November, I was denied the opportunity to really explore my facial hair-growing abilities due to student teaching. Suffice it to say I'm pretty pumped for the end of this month.
Maybe the most inappropriate motivational poster in the history of the world.Now, since I've had a side project each month, I figured I may as well make one up for March. I've decided to try to listen to a different music album each day in March. The catch? I can never have listened to the album before! Now, instead of sticking to my steady rotation of rock n' roll music, I've asked a number of people for help in coming up with new artists for me. I don't want to be an ignorant prick when it comes to music (of which I am a huge fan), saying I like "anything but country/metal/rap". So I've been looking for input. If you have suggestions, you are more than likely able to get in touch with me without my having to post my email address here, so hop to it. Really, I'm open to anything. I listened to a Russian techno CD the other day, so really, explore the space.
Coming up later today, a re-cap of the CDs I've listened to thus far. For now, I'm catching up on The Wire, which I've started watching. So far, so good.
No comments:
Post a Comment