Monday, January 12, 2009

January 12- Let's play a little catch-up

Alright, so THIS aspect of my New Year's resolution/challenge has been lacking a bit...you all (all? 3 of you? I mean, we put the over/under at 3 readers.) will be happy to know that it was for good reasons.

Last week was fairly productive. A few things from my week to fill you in on:

BABY LIAM- I spent a few afternoons at the hospital visiting with my new....relative (second-cousin? This baffles me...). He's quite a cute baby: rock star haircut, chiseled abs, and a stink eye that would make Eastwood shit bricks. It's been quite a long week for him, as he's undergone feeding through a tube and preemie incubation. I'm told that he is making great progress, though, which is the best sign considering his premature birth. It has also given me some time to spend with my family, who- in all seriousness- are more important to me than anything.

SUBBING- Worked twice last week, which certainly deserves a post of it's own, so while we're here, let's get into it...
---Monday I subbed at a middle school, which was my first step into a classroom since last semester and the first as a paid employee since June...and it. felt. great. I was able to teach Social Studies, which was good because it gave me the opportunity to flex my teaching muscles (located in the middle abdomen region) once more. Good times. It was also nice to be working again. I can't believe I just fucking said that. Ah well. I suppose I should get used to the work; I just wish it was more consistent.
THURSDAY, on the other hand...well, Thursday featured a puker (ALL over the hallway mid-transit) and a student who was far less than cooperative.

Parents, stop enabling your children to the point that they know no limits! It is YOUR responsibility to teach your kids manners, so that when they enter school, they know how to conduct themselves in a social environment and behave like rational people!!



Suffice it to say that Thursday, I was eager for a drink. Alas, it just wasn't to be. Thurday night is Trivia night, and of course I love me a pint of beer or two over the course of the evening...again, too bad. THIS wasn't all that taxing, as I was really really happy to be back on stage and hosting again. It was nice to see a good crowd out once again...

Over the weekend I really didn't do much. I tweaked a few things here and there (no nipples), and took it easy. Went out Friday to the usual spot (I'm happy to be calling it "the usual spot" again...), and I feel that it's not all that bad. I'm thinking clearly and I'm certainly enjoying that.

As of Thursday, I am halfway through the month of no drinking, and I must say I'm faring quite well, despite the desire for the occasional beer. I've been consuming lots of green tea, and will be cleansing starting Saturday, so that will DEFINITELY be an interesting experience (well-documented, too). Stay tuned...

Oh, and fuck the Eagles.

No comments:

Post a Comment