(Editor's note: pretend that this was posted on the 10th. Got it?)
So last week I got an e-mail saying something about the tickets I ordered. Now, I had blown some cash a couple of months ago on U2 tickets for the fall (well worth it), and so I had thought that this was a confirmation of one of those tickets....WRONG! It was the Daily Show tickets I had requested like 6 months ago! So I headed down to the city with Justin and met up with Lee and Stuart for tonight's taping of the Daily Show!
The whole experience was pretty fun. For starters, the taping is supposed to begin at 5, so we arrived at the studio at about 3, just in case. The studio had mentioned that while 500 tickets were reserved, that was just to ensure that there would be a full house.
Anyway, once they started ushering people in, we got a good look at the studio (no pictures were allowed inside. Bummer. Think "The Daily Show"...but live). I must say I was impressed. There was not a bad seat in the house, and so we got a head-on view of Jon Stewart's desk, which was pretty impressive, considering our place on the line.
Before the show, we had a stand-up comic come out and pump up the crowd. This was amusing, as he picked on the guys in suits and ties (greedy fucking bankers)...I only bring this up because at one point he started talking to a guy in a shirt and tie with no jacket. He asked the guy if he was a banker and the guy said no, to which the comic responded "makes sense. Shirt and tie with no jacket. You must work for Enterprise". This sent me into hysterics, since as many of you know, Papa Bear Janove is celebrating 4 years with the company that'll pick you up real soon! (though Al wears a jacket and partially-ironed shirt, to his credit)
After that, the man himself came out for a little pre-show Q&A, which was pretty good. Some of the questions were weak and not very entertaining ("What's the best thing about being a parent?"....Really? THAT'S your question??? Look, I'm NOT a parent...but I would like to think that when I am, my mindset will not change to parent-only mode when it comes to famous people I admire. I would hate to have to draft a fantasy baseball team of only ballplayers who are model parents).
After that, we started the show. The taping was actually what you see ON the show for June 10th, minus the New York Times clip, as well as the scene where Jon got on the horse as Napoleon Bonaparte (we couldn't leave our seats...)
Full episode here.
The New York Times segment (about 4:30 in) is hilarious. Fucking great. No bones about it.
Anyway, the show was shot in one take, and then we were sort of ushered out of there. A brief experience once we actually started filming, but an experience i was definitely glad I got to take part in.
Saad Mohseni interview wasn't necessarily very funny, but then, I don't think it was intended to be. Oh well. Still a riot.
Cross "See Daily Show Live" off of my list.
Friday, June 26, 2009
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment